180 years of LODENFREY

Come together at the Gusswerk Salzburg

We are celebrating a big company anniversary this year, because the foundation stone for the company  LODENFREY was laid 180 years ago. In 1842, the 21-year-old Johann Georg Frey came to Munich as a trained weaver and acquired a "weaver's license", his first production license. With ten looms he begins to produce smooth woolen fabrics, but soon his fine fabrics were also in demand in courtly circles. In 1855 he was awarded the gold medal at the Paris World Exhibition for the novelty of the water-repellent, felted new wool fabric - the loden.

To celebrate this special anniversary, there was a small party in Salzburg at the start of the ordering process for the 2023 spring/summer season. The come together took place at Gusswerk, the design and fashion hotspot in Salzburg, which celebrated its premiere at SALT Salzburg. The SALT is Salzburg's new fashion platform and stands for fashion. costume. craft. Tradition. Quality. Salzburg. The charm of the casting plant is similar to that of the former LODENFREY production site, today's LODENFREY Park. It is a former bell foundry, on which premises not only well-known fashion labels, advertisers and photographers have moved into lofts or studios, but is now providing the exhibition space for this industry meeting place.

h19gXXII051.jpg
h19gXXII065.jpg

At the come together, the guests were able to relax after the first day of the trade fair and enjoy the togetherness at the start of the season in the open air, with delicious food and cold drinks. Culinary highlights were the Burger-Mobil and a stand from Whobertus Dry Gin, who served unusual gin creations such as the "Alpenglühen" cocktail, refined with radishes and rosemary. The singer/songwriter Matthew Austin and DJ Gregor Fernandez provided atmospheric music, filling the   mild summer night with pleasant sounds well into the late evening hours.

We look forward to continuing the LODENFREY story and have many exciting projects planned.

Stay tuned!

h19gXXII133.jpg
Lodenfrey
h19gXXII013.jpg
h19gXXII036.jpg
h19gXXII138.jpg
h19gXXII055.jpg
h19gXXII001.jpg
h19gXXII081.jpg
h19gXXII079.jpg
h19gXXII028.jpg

180 Jahre LODENFREY

Come Together im Gusswerk Salzburg

Wir feiern dieses Jahr großes Firmenjubiläum, denn vor stolzen 180 Jahren wurde der Grundstein für das Unternehmen  LODENFREY gelegt. Im Jahr 1842 kam der 21-jährige Johann Georg Frey als gelernter Weber nach München und erwarb eine „Webergerechtsame“, seine erste Produktionslizenz. Mit zehn Webstühlen beginnt er glatte Wollstoffe zu fertigen, doch schon bald waren seine feinen Stoffe auch in höfischen Kreisen gefragt. Im Jahr 1855 wurde er auf der Pariser Weltausstellung für die Neuheit des wasserabweisenden verfilzten Schurwollstoffes – dem Loden - mit der Goldmedaille prämiert.

Um dieses besondere Jubiläum zu feiern, gab es zum Orderauftakt der Frühjahr-/Sommersaison 2023 in Salzburg ein kleines Fest. Das Come together fand im Gusswerk statt, der Design- und Fashion-Hotspot in Salzburg, das seine Premiere der SALT Salzburg feierte. Die SALT ist Salzburgs neue Modeplattform und steht für Mode. Tracht. Handwerk. Tradition. Qualität. Salzburg. Das Gusswerk ähnelt in seinem Charme der ehemaligen Produktionsstätte LODENFREY, dem heutigen LODENFREY Park. Es ist eine ehemalige Glockengießerei, auf welchem Gelände heute neben bekannten Mode-Labels, Werber und Fotografen in Lofts oder Studios eingezogen sind, stellt für diesen Branchentreff ab sofort die Ausstellungsflächen bereit.

h19gXXII051.jpg
h19gXXII065.jpg

Beim Come together konnten die Gäste entspannt den ersten Messetag ausklingen lassen und das gemeinsame Miteinander zum Saisonstart bei bestem Wetter unter freiem Himmel, leckerem Essen und kalten Getränken genießen. Kulinarische Highlights waren das Burger-Mobil und ein Stand von Whobertus Dry Gin, die ausgefallene Gin-Kreationen, wie den Cocktail „Alpenglühen“, verfeinert mit Radieschen und Rosmarin, kredenzten. Für stimmungsvolle Musik sorgte der Singer/ Songwriter Matthew Austin, sowie DJ Gregor Fernandez der die  laue Sommernacht bis in die späteren Abendstunden mit angenehmen Klängen erfüllte.

Wir freuen uns darauf, die Geschichte von LODENFREY weiterzuführen und haben viele, spannende Projekte geplant.

Stay tuned!

h19gXXII133.jpg
Lodenfrey
h19gXXII013.jpg
h19gXXII036.jpg
h19gXXII138.jpg
h19gXXII055.jpg
h19gXXII001.jpg
h19gXXII081.jpg
h19gXXII079.jpg
h19gXXII028.jpg