A story from Munich

1842
LODENFREY is like no other brand in Germany for style and tradition. The company, based in Munich, is now in the 6th generation of the family. It is our goal to inspire future generations with our iconic products that are based on natural materials.

1842

The year Lodenfrey was founded. The young Johann Georg Frey came to Munich as a trained weaver and acquired a "weaver's right", his first license, at the age of 21 for 250 guilders. With 10 looms he begins to manufacture simple and smooth woolen fabrics.
The water-repellent loden brought him the gold medal for this world first at the Paris World Exhibition in 1855.
 

1862

A mechanical sheep's wool spinning mill, cloth and wool goods factory in Dianabad in Munich's English Garden is built. The existing hydropower of the Schwabinger and the favorable location offer everything desirable for the production of loden. The washed and milled loden can be air-dried here.

1870

The foundation for the factory in Osterwaldstrasse in Munich was laid. The international career of the natural product loden can no longer be stopped. The German and Austrian nobility, headed by Emperor Franz Joseph I (1830-1916), wore the loden to hunt and thus made it acceptable.
 
In 1872 his son, Johann Baptist Frey, developed the bar loden (Strichloden). This is the first really water-repellent loden, a roughened and impregnated fabric. The loden coat was born, which becomes an iconic classic.

1928

Georg Frey joins the company in the third generation. This year, construction of the Bavarian Zugspitzbahn begins on Germany's highest mountain, the Zugspitze. Against the harsh weather and the cold wind, the men wear loden coats by Lodenfrey. The construction of our own clothing factory enables the industrial production of loden coats.
They can be passed on to resellers. Thanks to the expansive business policy, it is possible to steadily increase sales despite the onset of the economic crisis at the beginning of the 1930s.

1930

In addition to working at Lodenfrey, Georg Frey mainly devoted himself to his hobby, collecting beetles. He traveled all over the world and built up the largest private collection of beetles in the world with 3 million beetles from 97,000 species. He exhibited these copies in his museum in Tutzing. He also advanced to an honorary doctorate from the Ludwig Maximilans University in Munich and honorary consul of Guatemala. Today the beetles are a focus of the entomological collections in the Natural History Museum Basel.

1933-1945

The Lodenfrey story in the years of National Socialism is presented in detail in a separate and independent historical report. We can provide you with a copy on request.

1948

Lodenfrey conquers the world market. Second companies are founded in the USA and France, and sales offices are opened in the Empire State Building in New York and Boston. There are also sales branches in Dresden, Vienna, Brussels and Stockholm. In the 1950s Lodenfrey was already exporting to over 40 countries.

1950s

Herbert and Georg Frey take over the management as the fourth generation and continue to drive the expansion policy. There are 600 points of sales worldwide and Lodenfrey products are sold in Chile, Syria, Lebanon and even to King Hussein in Jordan.
 
In 1964, the construction of a spacious factory in Bad Ischl in Austria began. In a short time, the Austrian subsidiary is one of the most modern equipped companies in the world.

1950s

The benefits for employees are improved: Germany’s first company kindergarten including an infant station is opened in the Loden factory in Munich, a company health insurance fund is developed, a works library is opened and living space is created for employees.
There is a Lodenfrey ski hut that all staff could use for excursions. A legendary carnival ball was organized there every year and a visit to the Oktoberfest was and is always popular.

1960

Lodenfrey employs 2,000 people and enables 60 apprentices to train every year. We are pleased that our team still consists of many of the former apprentices.
 
1970 - the seamstresses in Munich become scarce, the requirements become stricter and production becomes more expensive. Bavarian loden coats are now sewn under palm trees in a dedicated production facility in Malta.

1990s

Another generation change at Lodenfrey. With Dr. Sabine Frey and Dr. Dr. Peter Frey is the 5th generation to take over the company.
 
In 1995 the fifth generation brings the fashionable Country Frey lifestyle collection onto the market. The house is now ready for the turn of the century. In addition to classic function and costume, Lodenfrey is also setting trends in the new era.
 
In 1996 the traditional Bavarian company Zeiler, which specializes in leather clothing, is taken over. Lodenfrey builds a development and logistics center in Garching near Munich and relocates the company headquarters there.

2003

The exclusive costume collection "Poldi" is launched together with his KH Prinz Leopold von Bayern .
This is followed by other new brands. "Wearable electronics" is developing a multimedia costume that can be used to listen to music and make calls, as well as a heated loden coat. Lodenfrey received an innovation voucher from the Free State of Bavaria.
2011 the toboggan legend "Schorsch Hackl" is the godfather for a new collection consisting of loden and knitted jackets.

2019

With Antonia and Leonard von Pfister, the sixth generation joins the family company.
Antonia und Leonard von Pfister, 6. Generation Lodenfrey

Eine Geschichte aus München

1842
LODENFREY steht wie kaum eine andere Marke in Deutschland für Stil und Tradition. Das Unternehmen mit Sitz in München wird mittlerweile in der 6. Generation der Familie geführt. Unser Ziel ist es, mit unseren kultigen Produkten, die auf natürliche Materialien setzen, auch zukünftige Generationen zu inspirieren.

1842

Das Gründungsjahr von Lodenfrey. Der junge Johann Georg Frey kommt als gelernter Weber nach München und erwirbt im Alter von 21 Jahren für 250 Gulden eine "Webergerechtsame", seine erste Lizenz. Er beginnt mit 10 Webstühlen einfache und glatte Wollstoffe zu fertigen.
Der wasserabweisende Loden bringt ihm für diese Weltneuheit 1855 auf der Pariser Weltausstellung die Goldmedaille.

1862

Eine mechanische Schafwoll-Spinnerei, Tuch- und Wollwarenfabrik im Dianabad in Münchens Englischem Garten wird erbaut. Die vorhandenen Wasserkraft des Schwabinger und die günstige Lage bieten alles Wünschenswerte zur Herstellung von Loden. Der gewaschene und gewalkte Loden kann hier an der Luft getrocknet werden.

1870

Der Grundstein zu der Fabrikanlage an der Osterwaldstraße in München ist gelegt und die internationale Karriere des Naturprodukts Loden ist nicht mehr aufzuhalten. Der deutsche und österreichische Adel mit Kaiser Franz Joseph I (1830-1916) an der Spitze trägt den Loden zur Jagd und macht ihn damit hoffähig.
1872 entwickelt sein Sohn, Johann Baptist Frey, den Strichloden. Das ist der erste wirklich wasserabweisende Loden, ein im Strich gerautes und imprägniertes Gewebe - die Geburtsstunde des Lodenmantels, der zum ikonischen Klassiker wird.

1928

Georg Frey tritt in dritter Generation in das Unternehmen ein. In diesem Jahr wird auf dem höchsten Berg Deutschlands, der Zugspitze, mit dem Bau der bayerischen Zugspitzbahn begonnen. Gegen das raue Wetter und den kalten Wind tragen die Männer Lodenmäntel von Lodenfrey. Der Bau einer eigenen Kleiderfabrik ermöglicht die industrielle Konfektionierung der Lodenmäntel.
Sie können an Wiederverkäufer weitergegeben werden. Dank der expansiven Geschäftspolitik ist es möglich, trotz einsetzender Wirtschaftskrise Anfang der 30er Jahre den Umsatz stetig zu erhöhen.

1930

Neben sieiner Tätigkeiten bei Lodenfrey widmete sich Georg Frey vor allem seinem Hobby, dem Käfersammlen. Er bereiste die ganze Welt und baute so, mit 3 Millionen Käfern aus 97.000 Arten die größte private Käfersammlung der Welt auf. Diese Exemplare stellte er in seinem Museum in Tutzing aus. Außerdem avancierte er zum Ehrendoktor der Ludwigs-Maximilans-Universität in München und zum Honorarkonsul von Guatemala. Heute bilden die Käfer einen Schwerpunkt der entomologischen Sammlungen im Naturhistorischen Museum Basel.

1933 - 1945

Die Lodenfrey Geschichte in den Jahren des Nationalsozialismus  ist in einem eigenständigen Historikerbericht ausführlich dargestellt. Auf Anfrage können wir Ihnen gerne ein Exemplar bereitstellen.

1948

Lodenfrey erobert den Weltmarkt. In USA und Frankreich werden Zweitfirmen gegründet, im Empire State Building in New York sowie in Boston werden Verkaufbüros eröffnet. Darüberhinaus gibt es Verkaufsfilialen in Dresden, Wien, Brüssel und Stockholm. In den 50er Jahren exportiert Lodenfrey bereits in über 40 Länder.

1950er

Herbert  und Georg Frey übernehmen als vierte Generation die Geschäftsleitung und treiben die Expansionspolitik weiter voran. Es gibt 600 Verkausstellen weltweit und Lodenfrey Produkte werden nach Chile, Syrien, den Libanon und nach Jordanien an den König Hussein verkauft.
1964 wird im Österreichischen Bad Ischl mit dem Aufbau einer großzügigen Fabrikanlage begonnen. In kurzer Zeit zählt die österreichische Tochter zu den modernst ausgerüsteten Betrieben der Welt.

1950er

Die Leistungen für Mitarbeiter werden verbessert: Der erste Betriebskindergarten inklusive Säuglingsstation Deutschlands wird in der Münchner Lodenfabrik eröffnet, eine Betriebskrankenkasse wird entwickelt, ein Werksbücherei eröffnet und Wohnraum für Arbeitnehmer geschaffen.
Es gibt eine Lodenfrey Skihütte, die von allen Mitarbeitern für Ausflüge genutzt werden konnte. Dort wurde jährlich ein legendärer Faschingsball organisiert und auch der Besuch auf dem Oktoberfest war und ist immer ein Highlight.

1960

Lodenfrey beschäftigt 2.000 Mitarbeiter und ermöglicht jährlich 60 Lehrlingen die Ausbildung. Wir freueun uns, dass auch heute unser Team noch aus vielen der ehemaligen Lehrlinge besteht.
1970 - die Näherinnen in München werden knapp, die Auflagen werden schärfer und die Produktion wird teurer. Bayerische Lodenmäntel werden jetzt unter Palmen genäht, in einer eigenen Produktion auf Malta.

1990er

Erneuter Generationswechsel im Hause Lodenfrey. Mit Frau Dr. Sabine Frey und Herrn Dr. Dr. Peter Frey übernimmt die 5. Generation das Unternehmen.
 
1995 bringt die fünfte Generation die modische Lifestyle-Kollektion Country Frey auf den Markt. Damit ist das Haus zur Jahrhundertwende gerüstet. Lodenfrey setzt neben klassischer Funktion und Tracht auf modische Zeichen für die neue Zeit.
 
1996 wird das bayerische Traditionsunternehmen Zeiler übernommen, das auf Lederbekleidung spezialisiert ist. Lodenfrey baut ein Entwicklungs- und Logistikzentrum in Garching bei München und verlegt den Firmensitz dorthin.

2003

Zusammen mit seiner K. H. Prinz Leopold von Bayern wird die exklusive Trachtenkollektion "Poldi" ins Leben gerufen.
Darauf folgen weitere neue Marken. "Wearable electronics" entwicklet Multimedia Tracht, mit der Musik gehört und telefoniert werden kann, sowie einen beheizbaren Lodenmantel. Lodenfrey erhielt dafür vom Freistaat Bayern einen Innovationsgutschein.
2011 die Rodellegende "Schorsch Hackl" ist Pate für eine neue Kollektion, bestehend aus Loden- und Strickjoppen.

2019

Mit Antonia und Leonard von Pfister steigt die sechste Generation ins Familien Unternehmen ein. Neben der Weiterentwicklung der Produkte ist das Ziel, das Unternehmen, die Produktion und den Einkauf so nachhaltig wie möglich zu gestalten, um klimaneutral und zirkulär die 200-Jahrfeier im Jahr 2042 feiern zu können.
  • Instagram
  • Facebook