The Magic Flute

Costume by Lodenfrey

Schloss.jpg

Traditional costume in Alpine boarding schools is not necessarily a given, but it does happen and not necessarily rarely. Just as we have furnished the Schondorf boarding school with traditional costumes, for example, we are now doing the same for another boarding school. This time, however, a fictitional one, namely the famous Mozart boarding school in the Austrian Alps. Here a 17-year-old student who has just come from London to the prestigious music school, discovers a secret portal into the world of Mozart's Magic Flute.

 

The modern screen adaptation of Mozart's popular opera takes place under the direction of Florian Sigl and is produced by Christopher Zwickler. Roland Emmerichs Centropolis Entertainment is also behind the film and some big and well-known names appear in the cast. Opera and music stars such as the French soprano Sabine Devieilhe, the Franco-Mexican tenor Rolando Villazón or the American bass Morris Robinson take on roles in the music film.

The main characters are played by Jack Wolfe, known from the Netflix hit series “The Witcher” and from the London National Theater as Tim Walker and Prince Tamino, Iwan Rheon, the villain Ramsay Bolton from “Game of Thrones” plays the birdcatcher Papageno and Asha Banks takes on the role of Pamina. Also to be seen is F. Murray Abraham, who won an Oscar for his role in Amadeus, a biopic of  Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, where he played the role of the composer Antonio Salieri . He has also appeared in classic films such as Inside LLewyn Davis, The Grand Budapest Hotel and Finding Forrester. The film and especially the theater actor takes on the role of the rector of the boarding school, Dr. Longbow.

See.jpg

With the great cast, we're really excited about the film and, of course, proud to be part of this project. Because the boys from the boarding school are all dressed in Lodenfrey. Pants, vests and jackets come from our production. With the costume designer Esther Amuser we were able to bring together the colors of the film, the images and ideas of the directors and the aspects of Austrian costume in one outfit. As we believe, we've done so very successfully! We are looking forward to the premiere soon, and the film should come to German cinemas at the end of 2022.

Incidentally, the film was to be filmed largely in Morocco. Due to the pandemic, however, the Bavaria film studios were used. We were on the set and completely amazed at how perfectly it can be imitated there. If it hadn't been winter and accordingly cool, you would have thought you were at the market in Marrakech. Other locations are Salzburg, London and the Canary Islands.
However, we don't want to reveal too much here, it's best to go to the cinema yourself next year, it will be worth it!

Die Zauberflöte

Kostüme by Lodenfrey

Tracht in alpenländischen Internaten ist nicht zwangsläufig gegeben, aber es kommt vor und auch nicht unbedingt selten. So wie wir beispielsweise das Landschulheim Schondorf mit Tracht ausgestattet haben, tun wir dies nun auch für ein weiteres Internat. Diesmal allerdings ein fiktives, nämlich das berühmte Mozart Internat in den österreichischen Alpen. Hier entdeckt ein 17 jähriger Schüler, der gerade aus London auf die prestigeträchtige Musikschule gekommen ist, ein geheimes Portal in die Welt von Mozarts Zauberflöte. 

Die moderne Leinwand-Adaption der beliebten Oper Mozarts findet unter der Regie von Florian Sigl statt und wird von Christopher Zwickler produziert. Außerdem steht Roland Emmerichs Centropolis Entertainment hinter dem Film und einige große und bekannte Namen tauchen im Cast auf. So übernehmen Opern- und Musikstars wie die französische Sopranistin Sabine Devieilhe, der französisch-mexikanische Tenor Rolando Villazón oder der US amerikanische Bass Morris Robinson Rollen in dem Musikfilm. 

Die Hauptcharaktere werden gespielt von Jack Wolfe, bekannt aus der Netflix Hit-Serie “The Witcher” und vom Londoner Nationaltheater als Tim Walker und Prinz Tamino, Iwan Rheon, der Bösewicht Ramsay Bolton aus “Game of Thrones” spielt den Vogelfänger Papageno und Asha Banks übernimmt die Rolle der Pamina. Außerdem zu sehen sein wird F. Murray Abraham, der einen Oscar gewann für seine Rolle in Amadeus, eine Biografie ausgerechnet über Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. Er spielte hier die Rolle des Komponisten Antonio Salieri. Außerdem war er in Filmklassikern wie Inside LLewyn Davis, The Grand Budapest Hotel oder Finding Forrester zu sehen. Der Film- und vor Allem auch Theaterdarsteller übernimmt die Rolle des Rektors des Internats, Dr. Longbow.

Bei der tollen Besetzung sind wir schon sehr gespannt auf den Film und natürlich auch stolz darauf, Teil dieses Projekts zu sein. Denn die Jungen aus dem Internat sind allesamt in Lodenfrey gekleidet. Hosen, Westen und Janker stammen aus unserer Produktion. Mit der Kostümbildnerin Esther Amuser haben wir die Farben des Films, die Vorstellung der Regisseure und die Aspekte der Österreichischen Tracht in einem Outfit zusammenbringen können. Wie wir finden, sehr gelungen! Wir freuen uns schon bald auf die Premiere, Ende 2022 soll der Film dann in die deutschen Kinos kommen. 

Übrigens sollte der Film zu großen Teilen in Marokko gefilmt werden. Aufgrund der Pandemie wurde aber auf die Bavaria Filmstudios ausgewichen. Wir waren am Set und komplett erstaunt darüber, wie perfekt dort imitiert werden kann. Wäre es nicht Winter und dementsprechend kühl gewesen, hätte man denken können man wäre am Markt in Marrakesch. Weitere Drehorte sind Salzburg, London und die Kanarischen Inseln.
Allzuviel wollen wir hier allerdings gar nicht verraten, geht nächstes Jahr am besten selbst ins Kino, es wird sich lohnen! 

 

LODENFREY MENSWEAR
Daimlerstr. 25
85748 Garching bei Müncehn
info@lodenfrey.de
  • Instagram
  • Facebook